Graduate Conference in Theoretical Philosophy

logo Erasmus Universiteit RotterdamThe Dutch Research School of Philosophy (OZSW) and Erasmus School of Philosophy (ESPhil) cordially invite PhD candidates and ReMa students in theoretical philosophy to save the date and submit proposals for the Graduate Conference in Theoretical Philosophy to take place on 11 December, 2023.

Organizing university

Erasmus University Rotterdam


December 11, 2023


Erasmus University Rotterdam, Campus Woudestein

Type of activity


Primary target group

PhD candidates

If places available, also open to

ReMa students

Application/registration deadline

The deadline for abstract submission is September 30, 2023.
The deadline for registration is November 30, 2023.


08:30-09:00 registration and coffee

09:00-10:00 keynote talk Coyan Tromp: Can Complexity Thinking offer a new, overarching paradigm to help us deal with our ‘wicked’ problems? (in T3-24)
10:00-10:45 contributed talks in parallel sessions

10:45-11:00 coffee break

11:00-11:45 contributed talks in parallel sessions
11:45-12:30 contributed talks in parallel sessions

12:30-13:30 lunch break

13:30-14:15 contributed talks in parallel sessions
14:15-15:00 contributed talks in parallel sessions

15:00-15:15 coffee

15:15-16:00 contributed talks in parallel sessions
16:00-17:00 keynote talk Sjoerd van Tuinen: Continental Modal Metaphysics (in T3-24)

17:00-20:00 drinks and dinner

Key note speakers

Sjoerd van Tuinen, Erasmus School of Philosophy
Coyan Tromp, University of Amsterdam

Abstract submission

The conference is open to contributions in all domains and subdomains of theoretical philosophy, and not limited to ‘analytic’ approaches, but also open to ‘continental’ ones. Abstracts up to 400 words should be submitted by 30 September, 2023 to, mentioning ‘graduate conference’ and the initials of the submitter(s) in the email’s subject.

The decision of acceptance is on October 16, 2023.

Certificate / credit points

For this course participants can earn a certificate after successful completion. Please note, however, that the OZSW is not accredited to reward students with credits/ECTS directly. The study load is mentioned on the certificate, which can usually be exchanged for ‘real’ credits (ECTS) at your home university. For more info please see

The study load for this activity is: TBA.

How to apply / register

A link to register will be made available here once registration opens on October 16, 2023.

If registration has been closed because the maximum amount of participants has been reached, you can submit your name to the waiting list by sending an email to Fenanda Jacobs at

Cancellation and registration policy


Tim De Mey –
Prof. F.A. Muller
Sam Rijken
Frederik Van De Putte
Stefan Wintein