Climate Ethics 2024

Universiteit Utrecht logoThe Dutch Research School of Philosophy (OZSW) and Utrecht University invite PhD candidates in philosophy to register for the Spring School  Climate Ethics to take place on March 11 – 15, 2024.

Organizing university

Utrecht University


March 11-15, 2024


Utrecht City Center (precise location TBA)

Type of activity

5 day Spring School

Primary target group

Phd Candidates

If places available, also open to

ReMa students and postdocs. If you are interested in participating, please send an email to to be added to a waiting list. You will be notified after the registration deadline if you can register and join the course.

Application/registration deadline

February 1, 2024

About the topic

This course discusses core concepts, principles, approaches and current theoretical challenges in the field of climate ethics. Various invited lectures will present these topics and introduce their own research, which is discussed in depth by the participants. Topics may include:

  • Just transitions and the role of legitimate expectations
  • Principles of responsibility and burden-sharing
  • Negative emissions technologies
  • Sustainable socio-economic systems
  • Representation and participation: future generations, Global South, indigenous peoples
  • The roles of animals in climate change
  • Displacement and climate migration

In addition, special attention will be given on bridging the gap between academia and policy. Students will discuss these issues by engaging with the lecturers, readings, and through interactive discussions. The week ends with a day of student presentations.



  • Bart van den Hurk. Professor in the field of Interaction between Climate and the Socio-ecological System at VU University Amsterdam, scientific director of Deltares, and co-chair of Working Group II during the new (7th) IPCC cycle.
  • Behnam Taebi. Professor of Energy & Climate Ethics at Delft University of Technology.
  • Bernice Bovenkerk. Associate Professor of Environmental and Animal Ethics at the Philosophy Group of Wageningen University.
  • Dominic Lenzi. Assistant Professor at the University of Twente, working on Ethics and Political Philosophy in the Anthropocene.
  • Jan Willem Wieland. Associate Professor of Ethics at the Department of Philosophy of the VU University Amsterdam.
  • Jeroen Hopster. Assistant Professor at Utrecht University and senior researcher in the project Ethics of Socially Disruptive Technologies (ESDiT).
  • Laura García-Portela. Assistant Professor at the Erasmus School of Philosophy, working at the intersection between Climate Ethics and Climate Justice.
  • Michel Bourban. Assistant Professor in Moral, Political and Legal Philosophy at the University of Twente.
  • Tim Meijers. Assistant Professor in Moral and Political Philosophy at Leiden University.


Key note speakers

Michel Bourban (UTwente)

Laura García Portela (EUR)

Dominic Lenzi (UTwente)

Behnam Taebi (TU Delft)

Bernice Bovenkerk (WUR)

Jan Willem Wieland (VU)


Bert van der Hurk, chair of IPCC working group 2, will share his experience on bridging climate science and policy.

Required preparations

Readings, participations, presentation

Last updated on August 28, 2023

Certificate / credit points

For this course participants can earn a certificate after successful completion. Please note, however, that the OZSW is not accredited to reward students with credits/ECTS directly. The study load is mentioned on the certificate, which can usually be exchanged for ‘real’ credits (ECTS) at your home university.

Completion of the course (preparation, active participation and presentation) will be awarded with 3 EC. Students who are interested in writing a paper based on the course can earn 5 EC.


The course is free for:

Other participants pay a tuition fee of 300 euro for the course. 

Please note that there might be the option to register as a member of the OZSW which would give you free entrance to this and all other OZSW activities. Please check if you are eligible here:

How to apply / register

PhD candidates can register through this registration form

ReMa students and Postdocs can e-mail Fenanda Jacobs to be added to the  waiting list. After February 1, 2024, we will e-mail if there are still spots available.

If registration has been closed because the maximum amount of participants has been reached, you can submit your name to the waiting list by sending an email to

Registration/application form

If registration has been closed because the maximum amount of participants has been reached, you can submit your name to the waiting list by sending an email to Please also indicate whether you are a ReMa student or PhD candidate and whether you are a member of the OZSW or not.

Cancellation and registration policy


Jeroen Hopster, Ass. Prof. Utrecht University (

Research project Just Transitions: