Study group Philosophy and Psychiatry

To register for this group, please contact the study group coordinator through the e-mail below.


  • dr. Roy Dings ( – Ruhr University Bochum
  • dr. Derek Strijbos ( – Nijmegen
  • prof. Gerrit Glas ( – Amsterdam

Upcoming activities of this group

Past activities of this group

Topic & aim

This study group aims to create and support an interdisciplinary platform for the study of philosophy and psychiatry. Experts from different areas of research will be brought together in order to pursue and further develop new perspectives on the interface between these disciplines. To facilitate dialogue and establish a productive atmosphere for the exchange of ideas, the study group will focus on crossovers between the philosophy of mind and psychiatry. The following topics are considered of particular interest: (i) the nature and taxonomy of mental disorder, (ii) enactive and phenomenological approaches to psychopathology, (iii) hermeneutical versus causal approaches to explanation in psychiatry, (iv) the role of the self in mental illness, therapy and disease management, (v) patient autonomy and decision making competency, (vi) social cognition in psychopathology and psychotherapy.

Set-up & practicalities

Each expert meeting, 2 members present their work (in progress) related to the topics mentioned above. Alternatively, we discuss an important recently published paper within the area of interest, in which case the paper will be distributed to all the members a week in advance. The study group convenes every 3 months, alternatively at the VU Amsterdam and RU Nijmegen.

OZSW members who belong to this group

Member Affiliation
Scholten, MatthéUniversity of Amsterdam
Anderson, JoelUtrecht University
Kalis, AnnemarieUtrecht University
Meynen, GerbenVU University Amsterdam
Sie, MaureenTilburg University
Bransen, JanRadboud University Nijmegen
Strijbos, DerekRadboud University Nijmegen
Romeijn, Jan-WillemUniversity of Groningen
de Bruin, LeonRadboud University Nijmegen
Slors, MarcRadboud University Nijmegen
Rietveld, ErikUniversity of Amsterdam
Vujosevic, MarijanaLeiden University
Glas, GerritVU University Amsterdam
Frank, LilyEindhoven University of Technology
Brandenburg, DaphneUniversity of Groningen
Dings, RoyRadboud University Nijmegen
de Haan, SannekeTilburg University
Lemeire, OlivierKU Leuven
Boon, ErrolUniversity of Amsterdam
Mills, GeorginaTilburg University
Houterman, AldoErasmus University Rotterdam
Rooduijn, RosaUniversity of Amsterdam
Keulartz, LauraRadboud University Nijmegen
van Gemert, TiesTilburg University
de Boer, NinaRadboud University Nijmegen
Bollen, CarolineDelft University of Technology
Erden, Yasemin JTwente University
Van Banning, JohanUniversity of Amsterdam
Van Oosterzee, AnnaUtrecht University
Rainey, StephenDelft University of Technology

Other people who belong to this group

Drs. Josephine Lenssen, drs. Alan Ralston, dr. Stefan Geelen, drs. Hanna van Loo, drs. Berend Verhoeff, drs. Andrea Ruissen, dr. drs. Gerben van der Kraats, dr. Tonnie Staring, dr. Jaap van der Stel, prof. Jeroen Geurts, drs. Maarten van Westen, dr. Stephan Schleim, drs. Elleke Landeweer, Wilma Göttgens-Jansen, prof. Damiaan Denys, Dirk Geurts, Kate Nobbs, prof. Antoine Mooij, Ewoud de Jong, Stefano Micalo, Bram Sizoo, O. Delleman, Elnathan Prinsen, Edo Nieweg, Gaston Franssen, Marc Lewis, Jan Verhaegh, Lucas van Oudheusden, Jolien Francken, Evert van Leeuwen, Olle Kruijt, Jelly Kuiters, Dieneke Hubbeling, H.E. den Ouden, Gert Ouwersloot, Rob de Vries, Femke Truijens, Raina Gailani, Dorien Salet, Lotje Steins Bisschop, Jos Peeters,Tom van Wel, Pepijn Besselink, Karl Gerritse, Cyrus Logie, Anke Snoek, Bert van den Bergh, Patrick Delaere, Jelle Bruineberg, Daphne Truijens, Jeroen Vanheste, Julian Kiverstein, Linde van Schuppen, Léon Stoker

Print Friendly, PDF & Email