Study Group Philosophy of Biology



David Ludwig (WUR)

Upcoming activities of this group

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Past activities of this group

Topic & aim

The aim of the OZSW Study Group in Philosophy of Biology is to bring together scholars who share an interest in contemporary philosophy of biology (broadly conceived, including scholarship in the history and social studies of biology with a conceptual, theoretical, and/or philosophical component). The study group is open to all philosophers and scientists with an interest in philosophy of biology. Master students, Ph.D. candidates and post-docs are particularly encouraged to join, as are non-philosophers who are active in biological research.

Set-up & practicalities


This main activity of the study group is two organize monthly seminar-style meetings. The meetings will be dedicated either to in-depth discussion of a recent publication in philosophy of biology, or to discussion of work-in-progress from one of the participants. In addition, the meetings will serve as a platform for exploring and establishing national collaborations and can be used to initiate proposals for workshops or small colloquia. The study group aims to apply for funding to invite a visiting foreign speaker once a year. To increase awareness of activities within the field of philosophy of biology, one of the group members (Eva Boon) compiles a newsletter on a regular basis. People will be able to sign up for this newsletter through a link on the study group’s OZSW webpage.



Readings will be shared with the group members at least one week in advance of the next meeting. The group is open to discussion of work-in-progress by participating members. There are no attendance requirements, but in order to safeguard continuity of the study group registered members are strongly recommended to attend all meetings. Those who wish to present work-in-progress will be expected to have participated in at least two earlier meetings.


Meetings schedule

The group meets every first Friday of the month for a 2-hour session. (The next session for the academic year 2017-2018 has been postponed to December 1, 2017.)



The first two meetings will be held in Utrecht, in the Department of Philosophy and Religious Studies. After these first two meetings the members will decide on whether to alternate meetings between Utrecht and (an)other location(s).

OZSW members who belong to this group

Member Affiliation
McAllister, JamesLeiden University
Hopster, JeroenUtrecht University
O'Neill, ElizabethEindhoven University of Technology
Clarke, ChristopherErasmus University Rotterdam
de Haan, SannekeTilburg University
Villalobos Quesada, Maria Jose
Hendlin, YogiErasmus University Rotterdam
de Kanter, Anne-FloorUtrecht University
Verreault-Julien, PhilippeEindhoven University of Technology

Other people who belong to this group

Ruben Endendijk, Arno Wouters, Hannah Rubin, Sujin Kim, Ilja v.d. Rhoer, Max Bautista Perpinyà

Print Friendly, PDF & Email